2013 History Makers Gala

2013 History Makers Gala

Thursday, September 26, 2013 ~ 6:00-9:00 p.m.

Hotel Kirkwood ~ 7725 Kirkwood Blvd. SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404


The African American Museum of Iowa (AAMI) is excited to announce the 2013 History Makers!  This year’s honorees are:

Elaine Estes of Des Moines

Dr. Angela Franklin of Des Moines

Henri Harper of Iowa City

LaSheila Yates of Cedar Rapids

Lifetime Achievement Award: Thomas Moore of Hiawatha

Awards will be presented at the History Makers Gala on September 26, 2013 at the Hotel Kirkwood in Cedar Rapids, IA.  The schedule that evening is as follows:

6:00 – 7:00 p.m. ~ Registration and Welcome Reception

7:00 – 8:00 p.m. ~ Dinner

8:00 – 9:00 p.m. ~ Awards Ceremony

A three-course dinner will be served and formal attire is requested.  Individual tickets are $45.00 each or 10-person tables are $450.  Both can be purchased through the Paypal link below or by contacting AAMI Administrative Coordinator Katherine Smith at 319-862-2101 ext. 216 or kgfs...@blackiowa.org.  Tickets must be purchased by due Monday, September 23.

A block of hotel rooms has been reserved at a discounted rate for the night of September 26 at the Hotel Kirkwood.  Please contact the Hotel’s Reservation Department directly at 319-848-8700 and ask for the “African American Museum of Iowa: History Makers Gala Block.”

2013 History Makers Gala

If you have any questions or are interested in being a sponsor, please contact AAMI Development Director Grant Stevens at 319-862-2101 ext. 223 or gste...@blackiowa.org.  We hope to see you on September 26!

Past History Makers:


Willie Stevenson Glanton, Des Moines
Anna Marie Weems, Waterloo
Catherine Gayle Williams, Des Moines
LaMetta K. Wynn, Clinton


Lyn Stinson, Burlington
Ruth White, Cedar Rapids
Francis Hawthorne, Des Moines
Betty Furgerson, Waterloo


Dr. Ida Johnson, Davenport
Lou Porter, Waterloo
Dr. Paula Mahone, Des Moines


Freda Long, Cedar Rapids
Teree Caldwell-Johnson, Des Moines
Bernice Jones, Davenport


Hon. Judge Romonda D. Belcher, Des Moines
Marian Coleman, Iowa City
Nancy Humbles, Cedar Rapids


Dr. Mary Chapman, Des Moines
Sandra K. Bell, Ankeny
Dr. Geraldene Felton, Iowa City